Draupadi Murmu Elected as 15th President Of India

Draupadi Murmu Elected as 15th President Of India

Presidential Election 2022 Result Live Updates: Draupadi Murmu has been elected as 15th president of India, becoming the first tribal politician to occupy the top constitutional post in the world’s largest democracy.

Murmu, who belongs to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s ruling coalition, defeated the opposition nominee and former finance minister Yashwant Sinha, by getting more than 50% of the votes. She will take the oath of office on Monday after the current incumbent — Ram Nath Kovind’s — term ends. Modi, opposition leader Rahul Gandhi and Sinha congratulated Murmu on her appointment. The BJP has planned a mega ‘Abhinandan Yatra’ from the Delhi BJP office on Pant Marg which will be led by party chief JP Nadda to mark Murmu’s victory, if she is elected.

President-elect Droupadi Murmu greets Union Ministers, political leaders and media outside her residence in Delhi.


  • Droupadi Murmu got 6,76,803 votes as compared to her rival Yashwant Sinha’s 3,80,177 votes.
  • Murmu got 64% of votes in presidential poll against Yashwant Sinha’s 36%, Returning Officer PC Mody said today.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Thursday congratulated Droupadi Murmu for her election as the President of India and said it is a moment of great pride for the entire country.

NDA’s Presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu is officially declared as the President of the country.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Thursday congratulated NDA presidential nominee Droupadi Murmu after she emerged victorious in the election. The Trinamool Congress supremo said that the country will sincerely look up to Murmu as the “Head of State to protect the ideals of the Constitution and the custodian of our democracy”. The TMC has supported Yashwant Sinha, the joint candidate of major non-BJP parties, in the election held on July 18. “I would like to congratulate Hon’ble Presidential-Elect Smt Draupadi Murmu. The country will sincerely look up to you as the Head of State to protect the ideals of our Constitution & be the custodian of our democracy, especially when (the) nation is plagued with so many dissensions (sic),” she tweeted.


Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla joined the various leaders in congratulating Murmu on her election as President of India. In his congratulatory message, Birla said that Smt. Murmu has always given voice to the hopes and aspirations of the people, understood their grievances and resolved them.

Next Story:

Now you can get the latest stories from Hydnow every day. Click the link to subscribe. Click to follow Hydnow Facebook page and Twitter and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *