Nine New Judges Appointed in SC

Nine New Judges Appointed in SC

New Delhi, Aug.31 (Hydnow): As many as Nine newly appointed Supreme Court Judges including three women, were administered with oaths of office by the Chief Justice of the country Justice NV Ramana today. With the swearing-in of the nine new judges, the strength of the Supreme Court has risen to 33 including the CJI. The sanctioned strength of the SC is 34.

It may be noted here that this is the first time in the history of India’s highest court that nine judges have been sworn in simultaneously. The ceremony was held in the auditorium of the court complex to ensure social distancing and adherence to Covid protocols Traditionally, it is administered in the chief justice’s court room.

The names of the new judges include Justice Abhay Oka, who is the former Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court, Justice Vikram Nath, who is the former Chief Justice of Gujarat High Court, Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, who is the former Chief Justice of Sikkim and Andhra Pradesh High Courts and Justice Hima Kohli, who is the former Chief Justice of Telangana High Court and Justice BV Nagarathna, who is the former Karnataka High Court judge.

The names of the other judges are Justice CT Ravikumar , who is the former Kerala High Court judge, Justice MM Sundresh, who is the former Madras High Court judge, Justice Bela M Trivedi, who is the former Gujarat High Court judge and Justice PS Narasimha, a senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General. The retirement age of Supreme Court judges is 65. (Hydnow)

Now you can get latest stories from Hydnow everyday. Click the link to subscribe. Click to follow Hydnow Facebook page and Twitter and on Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *