• Tue. Apr 23rd, 2024

221 Women Contestants And 10 Win Their Seats; 3 Of Them First-Timers

221 Women Contestants And 10 Win Their Seats; 3 Of Them First-Timers221 Women Contestants And 10 Win Their Seats; 3 Of Them First-Timers

Telangana, Dec 4 (Hydnow): Ten women have won the assembly election in Telangana. Around 221 female candidates were in the fray this time. Congress has won 64 seats in the 119-member Legislative Assembly.

Three first-time women MLAs will enter the House this year. They include Yeshashwani Mamidala (Congress), Parnika Reddy (Congress), and Lasya Nanditha Sayanna (BRS). Lasya Nanditha Sayanna, daughter of late MLA G Sayanna, won from Secunderabad.

TPCC former chief Uttam Kumar Reddy’s wife, N Padamvathi Reddy also won her seat. Matta Ragamayee (Congress) and Kova Laxmi (BRS) are other notable female MLAs.


Sabitha Indra Reddy (BRS) – Maheswaram

Konda Surekha (Congress)- Warangal East.

Padmavathi Reddy (Congress)- Kodad.


Matta Ragamayee (Congress) – Sathupalli.

Lasya Nanditha (BRS)- Secunderabad Cantt.

Vakiti Sunitha (BRS)- Narsapur.


Kova Lakshmi (BRS)- Asifabad.

Yashswini Mamidala (Congress)- Palakurthi.

Seethakka (Congress)- Mulugu.


Chittem Parnika Reddy (Congress)- Narayanpet.

Important candidates lost are 

Dr Kota Neelima (Congress)- Sanath Nagar.


Amalarajula Sridevi (BJP)- Bellampalle.

T Aruna Tara (BJP) – Jukkal.

Dr Boga Sravani (BJP)- Jagitial.

Banotha Haripriya (BRS)- Yellandu.

M Rama Devi (Janasena)- Aswaraopeta.

Padma Devender Reddy (BRS)- Medak.

T Saritha (Congress)- Gadwal.

Challa Srilatha Reddy (BJP)- Huzurnagar.

Kanakala Niveditha Reddy (BJP)- NSR.

Gogidi Sunitha (BRS)- Alair.

Bade Nagajyothi (BRS)- Mulugu

Singapuram Indira (Congress)- Ghanpur Station.

Padma Rao (BJP)-Warangal West.

Mogili Sunitha Mudiraj (BJP)- Goshamahal.

Former MLA daughter makes it:

Secunderabad Cantt, the largest military cantonment in the country, with 2.5 lakh voters, voted for BRS candidate G Lasya Nanditha, daughter of G late MLA G Sayanna.

Lasya Nanditha defeated BJP’s Sriganesh with 59,057 votes. The constituency had two high-profile women candidates trying their luck. Lasya Nanditha of BRS was pitted against Gaddar’s daughter Dr G. Vennela.

BRS Minister wins

Sabitha Indra Reddy, Minister in the previous BRS government, won with 1,25,578 votes. She defeated Andela Sriramulu Yadava of BJP by a margin of 26,187 votes. Sabitha Indra was elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh three times, two times from the Chevella assembly constituency in 2000 and 2004 and once from the Maheshwaram constituency in the Telangana Legislative Assembly. She joined BRS in 2019 and has been the Minister for Education.

First-timer Yashaswini Mamidala defeated Dayakar Rao Errabelli of the BRS by a margin of 46,367 votes in Palakurthi. Congress candidate Danasari Anasuya Seethakka has won from Mulugu defeating sitting BRS MLA Nagajyothi Bade by a margin of 33,700 votes. (Hydnow

Next Story :

Now you can get the latest stories from Hydnow every day. Click the link to subscribe. Click to follow Hydnow’s Facebook page and Twitter and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *