Jaya Varma Sinha Will Be The New Chairman Of The Railway Board

Jaya Varma Sinha Will Be The New Chairman Of The Railway Board

Delhi/Hyderabad, Aug 31 (Hydnow): The Cabinet Appointments Committee has approved the appointment of Jaya Varma Sinha as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Railway Board.

sinha will supersede Anil Kumar Lahoti as the new chairman and CEO Railway Board and will assume office on September 1, 2023.  She is also the first woman chairman of the Railway Board, Vijay Laxmi Vishwanathan was the first female member of the Railway Board.

A 1988 batch Indian Railway Traffic Service official, Sinha is currently working as a member (Operations & Business Development) Railway Board.  She will assume charge of the Board at a time when the Indian Railway has received a record budgetary allocation from the Central government.


The Indian Railways has been allocated a capital outlay of Rs. 2.4 lakh crore in the Union Budget 2023-24.  This is the highest-ever allocation to the national transporter and continues on the trend followed last year with a gross budgetary support of Rs. 1.37 lakh crore in fiscal 2022-23. (Hydnow) 

Next Story :

Now you can get the latest stories from Hydnow every day. Click the link to subscribe. Click to follow Hydnow’s Facebook page and Twitter and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *