• Thu. Feb 29th, 2024

Padma Awards 2024 Honor Diverse Achievements Across India

Padma Awards 2024 Honor Diverse Achievements Across IndiaPadma Awards 2024 Honor Diverse Achievements Across India

Hyderabad, Jan 26 (Maxim News): In a recent announcement, the Padma Awards for 2024 have been unveiled, showcasing a diverse array of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society. Among the recipients, former Vice President Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu and renowned film actor Konidela Chiranjeevi have been honored with the prestigious Padma Vibhushan, the second-highest civilian award.

The list of awardees extends to the realm of arts, where veteran actress Vyjayanthimala Bali and Bharatanatyam maestro Padma Subrahmanyam join the ranks of those recognized with the Padma Vibhushan. Additionally, the late Bendeshwar Pathak, the creator of Sulabh Shauchalaya based in Bihar, has been posthumously honored for his significant contributions to social service.

This year’s Padma Awards encompass a total of 132 individuals from various fields such as art, social service, public affairs, science and technology, engineering, commerce, industry, medicine, literature, education, sports, and public service. The awards are conferred to individuals who have rendered exceptional, distinguished, or notable services to society.


The categories of Padma Awards include the Padma Vibhushan for exceptional services, the Padma Bhushan for high-level distinguished services, and the Padma Shri for distinguished services. President Draupadi Murmu is set to present these awards at the upcoming ceremonies to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in the months of March and April.

Among the 132 Padma Awards recipients announced, there are 5 Padma Vibhushan awardees, 17 Padma Bhushan awardees, and 110 Padma Shri awardees. Notably, the list includes 30 women and 8 individuals from foreign countries. Tragically, 9 individuals are posthumously honored for their remarkable contributions.

Late Justice Fathima Biwi from Kerala, the first woman judge of the Supreme Court, has been posthumously awarded the Padma Bhushan. Other notable recipients of the Padma Bhushan include former Union Minister Ram Naik from Maharashtra, former Union Minister O. Rajagopal from Kerala, renowned singer Usha Uthup, and Pyarelal Sharma, one half of the iconic Laxmikant Pyarelal duo. West Bengal’s famous actor Mithun Chakraborty and the late actor Vijaykanth from Tamil Nadu have also been recognized with the Padma Bhushan.


The Padma Awards for 2024 celebrate the remarkable achievements and contributions of individuals across diverse fields, reflecting the richness and diversity of talent in India. (Maxim News)

Next Story:

Now you can get the latest stories from Hydnow every day. Click the link to subscribe. Click to follow Hydnow’s Facebook page and Twitter and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *