UoH Faculty Selected For Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize For Science And Tech.

Hyderabad, Sept.28 (Hydnow): Dr. Surajit Dhara, faculty in the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been selected for the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology’ 2020. The award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) India, the late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. The Prize is given each year for outstanding contributions to science and technology.

Dr. Dhara receives this award on the basis of contributions made through work done primarily in India during the last five years in the area of Physical Sciences. The Prize is bestowed on a person who, in the opinion of CSIR, has made conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress – fundamental and applied – in the particular field of endeavour, which is his/her specialization.

SSB Prizes, each of the value of Rs 5,00,000 (Rupees five lakh only), are awarded annually for notable and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in the following disciplines: (i) Biological Sciences, (ii) Chemical Sciences, (iii) Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences, (iv) Engineering Sciences, (v) Mathematical Sciences, (vi) Medical Sciences and (vii) Physical Sciences. In addition, CSIR will grant a honorarium of Rs.15, 000/- per month.

Dr. Dhara has carried out inventive research and made outstanding contributions in emerging and diverse areas of LC science and technology spanning – colloids with tunable interaction and controlled assembly in liquid crystals; topological colloids with 2-dimensional motility and tunable direction of motion; development of liquid crystal droplet based tunable microresonators and microlasers. (Hydnow)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *